charlie.gif (22822 bytes)

1980

buyonline.GIF (1637 bytes)

     "Feibleman rivals Conrad in his ability to convey the power and oppressiveness of nature as the hurricane approaches."
-Larry McMurty, New York Times Book Review

     "A Masterpiece...His description of the hurricane's effect on nature stands with the best of Hemingway, with the Southern flavor of Faulkner."
-Los Angeles Times Book Review

     "A good novel with airtight control.   Everything--setting, plot and characterization, whether major or minor--works and works well."
-Washington Post

     "Feibleman is very, very good...Landscape and weather are crucial to his conception of character...his descriptions of the murders are extraordinary."
-Chicago Tribune Book World

     "A hurricane of a novel...whirls you along breathlessly...Jewels of deft characterization...prose as sharply honed as Charlie Boy's knife."
-Cleveland Plain Dealer

     "Brilliantly evokes New Orleans' sights, sounds, smells and summer heat...A splendid tale complete with vigilantes, car chases, and a killer hurricane that brings the novel to its horrifying climax."
-Louisville Times

     "An especially fine novel...in the tradition of Herman Melville and Nathaniel Hawthorne."
-New Orleans Times-Picayune

     "I was hooked.  Ten pages into 'Charlie Boy' and I was hooked until the end.  Peter Feibleman has written an intriguing psychological thriller...bringing an unlikely cast of characters and the city of New Orleans to full, mysterious life."
-William McPherson

     "A highly distinctive novelist able to command attention...thanks to a strong sense of place and a persuasive hand at characterization.  In 'Charlie Boy' both of these attributes are impressively in evidence."
-John Barkham Reviews

 

[ Home ] [ Novels & Novellas ] [ Plays ] [ Non-Fiction ]
[ Peter Feibleman Bookstore ]